My bridge club plays by a rule that an openng of a convenient minor requires a demand response by the partner unless intervening opponent does an overcall.
Situaltion: 1. My partner opened with 1-Diamond; opponent passed 2. As Responder I had no 4-card major, 3-cards each in the minor suit, and less than 6 points. We play that a minor response to a minor opening infers the responder has a 5-card minor suit, such as teh bidding: 1H; pass; 2D (5-card diamond suit)
- But in my case I did not have 5 diamonds or anything, really. After fretting whether to pass (against our rules) or bid "something" (leading to a disaster), I bid 1-NT expecting/hoping partner to put contract in her best suit.
- My partner (the opener) responed 2-NT and the bidding: 1D; pass; 1NT; pass/ 2NT; pass; pass; pass And we went down big time.
To me - and hoping partner would realize it, my 1NT inferred a bust hand and she was to then pick her best suit. But didn't work that way
Any advice how we can properly handle this situation the next time? What is the ACL rule for responding to a "convenient minor opening"? Is a demand response the rule?