Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I'm constructing a Deck and I want to make all the mana Temple Cards. More Specifically I want them to be Temple of Silence, Temple of Plenty, and Temple of Malady. Are these mana cards limited to only four per deck like regular cards or can you put an unlimited amount of them in your deck?

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

All cards are limited to 4 per deck except Basic lands, and cards that say they bypass this limit (currently Relentless Rats and Shadowborn Apostle). In the case of Basic lands, this means that the type line, which is the text between the image and the text box, has to start with the word "Basic". The rule that covers this is 100.2a. This limitation does not apply to limited play.

The cards you mention are not Basic lands, so you can only have 4 of each in your deck. The only basic lands are:

share|improve this answer
    
Why is ravenous rats exempt? –  doppelgreener Jul 10 at 2:58
    
My bad, I remember the wrong name. I fixed it now. –  murgatroid99 Jul 10 at 2:59
    
I've updated this to mention the general case - there's another example of it too. –  doppelgreener Jul 10 at 3:04
    
I did not know about Apostle. Thanks –  murgatroid99 Jul 10 at 3:06
    
Wait, in limited formats, there is no 4 card of each type rule? –  GendoIkari Jul 14 at 16:11

You can only put four of each Temple in your deck. It's only the five basic lands that are exempt from the limit:

100.2a In constructed play (a way of playing in which each player creates his or her own deck ahead of time), each deck must contain at least sixty cards. A constructed deck may contain any number of basic land cards and no more than four of any card with a particular English name other than basic land cards.

share|improve this answer
    
There are ten Basic land cards. –  ikegami Jul 10 at 14:41

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.