Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If there is a possible capture two or more fields away from a king like b--w- or b-----w- are those count as a compulsory/necessary jumps or not?

share|improve this question
    
Welcome to B&CG! –  Pat Ludwig Jul 10 at 7:17

1 Answer 1

It depends on the checkers/draughts variant that you are playing:

  • For American checkers / Britisch draughts (which are two names for the same game) and Italian checkers, kings are short-ranged and cannot jump over empty squares.
  • For all other variants (International/Russian/Spanish/Czech/Frisian/Thai draughts and Pool checkers), kings are long-ranged and can jump over empty squares as you indicated.

NOTE: in fact, for all but one (Thai draughts) of the long-ranged king variants, kings can also land on a sequence of adjacent empty squares behind a captured piece. In your notation, this would be patterns of the form B- - -w- - -, where the black king can land on any of the three - squares behind the white man.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.