Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The rules in Takenoko state that the Panda/Gardener can move in a straight line as far as they like, but not over gaps between tiles.

In practice this means that the movement of the Panda/Gardener is hardly restricted. Would it be possible to restrict the movements of other players by placing the Gardener/Panda right on the edge of a tile on the edge of the map, thus reducing the available angles of movement for the next person to move the Panda/Gardener?

I have assumed that movements are taken from the position of the Panda/Gardener piece, not the centre of the tile he is in. I have also assumed that the angle that the Panda/Gardener moves does not have to be congruent with any of the edges of the segment.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

The "straight line" is between tiles, not the precise position of the gardener. This isn't a miniatures wargame like Warhammer 40k; it's a tile-based abstract Euro.

Here are the diagrams of what a "straight line" means from the rulebook:

Moving the Gardener Moving the Panda

As you can see, the "straight line" limitation simply means that movement must be across shared edges of tiles, in a straight line, rather than "around the bend".

share|improve this answer
    
Thank you. Would you say that a move is legal if a straight line can be drawn from one or more points in the starting segment to one or more points in the destination segment? –  James Taylor Jul 11 at 13:16
3  
No. I would say that each tile is a distinct entity. Basically, you draw a line from the center of one tile to the center of another tile, and that line can only pass through the "edges" between the tiles like in the pictures. There's no positioning within a tile. You're either on the tile or you're not. –  Josh Jul 11 at 13:19
    
OK. Hmm, what if the line between the centre of two tiles took you along the outside edge of a tile which was itself on the edge of the map? Would that move be permitted or not? –  James Taylor Jul 15 at 10:22
1  
See @ikegami's picture. In that picture, the entire list of legal moves for a gardener/panda are: A<->B. A<->C. B<->C. B<->D. A<->D. C<->E. I don't know how to explain it any clearer. It's like moving spaces in a boardgame; you can't move along the edge in Candyland, nor can you move along the edge in Takenoko. (edit: missed one) –  Josh Jul 15 at 15:44
1  
How about this: The wording in the rulebook (in both places that describe this method of movement) says "straight line, any number of plots in the direction of his choice". This indicates that "one plot" is the unit of distance used for movement. And the only way to move "a number of plots" in any direction that makes sense is how myself and ikegami have described it. If this still doesn't make sense to you, you should probably contact the game company rules representatives directly so they can give you a satisfactorily definitive answer. –  Josh Jul 16 at 15:26

The Panda/Gardener are located on a tile, not the edge of one. They move from a tile to an adjacent tile, where an adjacent tile is one that shares a side with the current tile.

Moving in a straight line means that after moving to an adjacent tile, you can continue moving by exiting tiles on the side opposite of the one you entered.

For example, the Panda could move from tile A to tile B since they are adjacent. It could also move from A to C since A and C are on opposite sides of B.

    / \     / \     / \   
  /     \ /     \ /     \
 |   A===|===B===|==>C   |
 |       |       |       |
  \     / \     / \     / \
    \ /     \ /     \ /     \
     |   D   |       |   E   |
     |       |       |       |
      \     /         \     /
        \ /             \ /

You could move the panda from D to B, but that's as far as you can go since there is no tile on the opposite side of B. You cannot move to D to E because of the gap between them.

share|improve this answer
    
Could you move from A to E? –  James Taylor Jul 15 at 10:21
1  
No. If you continue the arrow in a straight line, you won't end up in E. (B and E aren't on opposite sides of C.) –  ikegami Jul 15 at 14:09
    
A straight line can be in any direction - it sounds as if you mean a straight line that is perpendicular to an edge of the starting segment? –  James Taylor Jul 15 at 15:32
2  
There are only six directions in which you can travel. Any line you create will necessarily be perpendicular to an edge. –  ikegami Jul 16 at 12:28
1  
There's nothing to discuss. –  ikegami Jul 16 at 14:15

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.