Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

If I play a spell that makes an opponent discard a card, but they have no hand, would they have to discard those cards from their library, or would nothing happen?

share|improve this question
1  
Every player always has a hand. What you are referring to is an empty hand, which is subtly different. –  jwodder Jul 12 at 20:39

1 Answer 1

Nothing happens.


He is instructed to discard a card.

701.7a To discard a card, move it from its owner’s hand to that player’s graveyard.

It's impossible for him to discard a card, so he does as much as possible.

609.3. If an effect attempts to do something impossible, it does only as much as possible.

It does not affect him.

share|improve this answer
3  
Note: As you can see from the definition of "discard", the phrase "discard from a library" makes no sense. You can move a card from a library, but you cannot discard from it. –  ikegami Jul 12 at 20:14

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.