Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I've come across the incredible Arkham Horror Statistics spreadsheet that fans have contributed to. I have played a few expansions and I understand most of what is on there, but I'm confused with the "Dual-Color OW Battle" under the "Special Events" header of the Miscellaneous tab. What is this? I know that OW stands for Other World, but I'm not sure what it means otherwise.

I haven't found anything about it on the Arkham Horror wiki or a general Google search. The only thing I can think of that would be two colors is Gloria's ability letting you draw two cards in an Other World, which might or might not be different colors. But that doesn't really make any sense in the context of a battle.

So what exactly is a "Dual-Color OW Battle"?

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted

"Dual-Color OW Battle" refers to three other world encounter cards from the Curse of the Dark Pharoah expansion (both the original and revised versions) that are actually two colors - they'll match either color. The "Battle" part, and the reason they're worth keeping statistics on, is that if you're in a certain location and draw the card, you'll have to fight an Ancient One. (If you're somewhere else, you get something much less scary.)

If you don't care about spoilers, here they are: one two three. They're linked from the Curse of the Dark Pharoah section here.

share|improve this answer
@Thunderforge I'm pretty sure yes, though I don't have it to confirm. They're explicitly mentioned in the original rules, and this BGG thread is asking about them in the revised version so they apparently exist there. See also this question or this BGG thread for the differences (none mention these cards). – Jefromi Jul 17 '14 at 22:28

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.