Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Do I understand the rules correctly in that all center cards are replaced when defeated/bought?

So I can if I have good power cards spend some runes on replacing cheap cards in order to hope something stronger with a better reward will come up to replace them cards, or is the turn played with the cards at the center and then replaced when your turn finishes?

The rules as I read them seems to suggest that they are replaced when fought/bought but that made the game feel very strange. This might simply be a feeling based on playing a lot of Dominion lately with its restrictions.

share|improve this question
up vote 10 down vote accepted

I have only played one game of Ascension, and I got the same idea.

Here is the ruling directly from the download-able FAQ:

Q: When does a card in the center row get replaced? If I defeat Mephit, do I banish a card in the center row before or after a new card replaces the Mephit?

A: Whenever a card leaves the center row, the first thing that happens is that it is replaced from the center deck. There should be six cards in the center row at all times. In this instance, if you defeat Mephit, you replace the Mephit from the center deck and then make your decision about what card to banish.

FAQ Link

share|improve this answer
That FAQ should come in handy, thanks a bunch :) – Don Oct 20 '10 at 6:57

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.