Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We had a situation where in the infection stage, a city was drawn that was about to cause an outbreak.

To stop this, we used an instant to move out quarantine specialist there.

Is this within the rules, or cheating?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

That is against the rules.

You must resolve each card fully before you can do anything else, so if you draw a card that causes an outbreak, you must first perform all of its steps. After you resolve that, you can play an Event, if you like. And, of course, you could play an instant before drawing and revealing the first Event card.

From the rules, page 7:

Event cards can be played at any time, except in between drawing and resolving a card.

You might also be interested in this similar question: In Pandemic, when does the discard-over-7-cards rule take effect?.

share|improve this answer
    
So, not quite the same as an "instant" in M:TG, where you're allowed to see the card about to be played, then act before it actually "lands" and has any effect. –  KeithS Aug 27 at 21:12

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.