Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Looking at this question and this question, it seems like I can activate abilities after blockers are declared (and before damage is assigned).

So if I'm attacking with Scourge of Skola Vale, can I untap it (say with Kiora's Follower) then tap it and sacrifice a creature to pump it with +1/+1 counters, thus doing extra damage?

Would this also work if I'd given it vigilance before declaring the attack?

share|improve this question
up vote 2 down vote accepted


  1. Untapping it does not remove it from combat[CR 506.4, CR 506.4b]. Neither does tapping it to pay a cost.

  2. You get the chance to use abilities at the end of the Declare Blockers Step[CR 509.5]. The game will only advance to the next step once all of these has resolved and noone want to activate any others[CR 116.4].

  3. Damage is only calculated in a later step (the Combat Damage Step)[CR 510.2], so the +1/+1 counters added in the Declare Blockers Step will affect the damage dealt.

share|improve this answer

Yes you can.

The combat phase consists of five steps:

  • beginning of combat
  • declare attackers
  • declare blockers
  • combat damage
  • end of combat

In each of these steps players get priority and can cast instants or activate abilities. In the declare blockers step the first thing you do is declaring the blockers. It is after this that each player gets priority and can do stuff. And this is before the combat damage step

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.