Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

We recently purchased a copy of the original Escape From Atlantis as it was a game I used to love as a child. Playing it last night, however, we came across a couple of situations that the rules didn't seem to clarify.

If a player has an Atlantian on the same tile as a dolphin, and is using that dolphin for travel, can I 1) move a swimmer on to that tile and "steal" the dolphin away from them on a later turn, or 2) when rolling a dolphin move, cause their dolphin to "abandon" them and swim away?

We're unsure as to whether that dolphin effectively becomes "theirs" or not, where only a shark or a sea monster can get that person, or if stealing a dolphin is fair game.

share|improve this question
+1 for Hot Network Questions bait title – Johno Aug 5 '14 at 9:00
Welcome to B&CG! – Pat Ludwig Aug 5 '14 at 18:45
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Dolphins don't belong to anyone. In my version of the rules (UK), the only thing a Dolphin does is let you pay 3 movement points (I.E your entire turn) to move a swimmer and dolphin to the safety of a coral island, and leave the dolphin in front of the island.

You can move the dolphin with the swirler without having any effect on the swimmer(s) present.

I think different editions have different rules though.

share|improve this answer
Excellent, thank you. This clarifies things greatly, and we'll give it a go next time we play (later, probably). – mpdc Aug 6 '14 at 11:08

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.