Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We are trying to workout a ruling for a multi player game of mtg involving 8 players and a 1 player with an Exquisite Blood.

So lets say there are eight players. Player #3 has Exquisite Blood. Player #5 hits player #8 for 100 damage. Player #8 dies and Exquisite Blood triggers (For 100).

The confusion comes in for when Exquisite Blood resolves. As the opponent that lost 100 life not longer exists, will Exquisite Blood still resolve?

share|improve this question
    
I edited your question a bit to collapse the list. I'm confused though: player #3 is the one with exquisite blood, and nothing happened to them. Did you mean to suggest player #8 has exquisite blood? –  doppelgreener Aug 5 at 10:37
    
Player #3 has the Exquisite Blood. Nothing happens to them. The confusion is; does player #3 gain all 100 life or the fact that the opponent that lost the life is dead at the time the spell resolve make any difference. –  user8216 Aug 5 at 10:44
    
Oh, right, yeah, this makes sense now. –  doppelgreener Aug 5 at 10:45
    
Fixed the title a bit. It's still misleading because the EB triggers when the life loss happens, which is before the player is eliminated by the SBAs. –  ikegami Aug 5 at 13:15
    
Related: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/4749/… (which is kind of a more general version of this question) –  David Z Aug 5 at 18:44

1 Answer 1

up vote 4 down vote accepted

Player #3 will gain 100 life.

The fact that #8 is no longer in the game has no effect on Exquisite Blood's triggered ability. All of its effect was put on the stack when #8 lost 100 life. It does not require #8 to be in play when it resolves, because it does not check for any current information about that player. Even if it did, rule 800.4g would take effect:

If an effect requires information about a specific player, the effect uses the current information about that player if he or she is still in the game; otherwise, the effect uses the last known information about that player before he or she left the game.

Only effects that require a target are affected if that target is no longer legal or does not exist anymore; they would be countered in that case.

share|improve this answer
1  
interesting side question, although not really appropriate for this format - is player #8 a terrible person if he scoops before damage is dealt to prevent the life gain? –  Patters Aug 5 at 11:28
1  
I can only confirm that conceding would prevent the damage and therefore the trigger. It doubt it would be unsporting conduct either even in a multiplayer match where his decision would influence the rest of the game, because every player may concede at any time, immediately removing him from the game. Whether or not that makes him a "terrible" person is indeed beyond the scope of this site. –  Hackworth Aug 5 at 11:39
    
thank you for your answer. Maybe not the best place for this, yet still related, would conceding stop a Exquisite Blood + Sanguine Bond from killing all players? –  user8216 Aug 5 at 11:42
1  
As I wrote, conceding before the life loss happens prevents Exquisite Blood from triggering, and therefore Sanguine Blood as well. –  Hackworth Aug 5 at 11:54

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.