Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Just bought Priests of Ra and am really enjoying it, but am not quite sure how the final turn of each epoch should be played. The rules state an epoch ends when the final sun is flipped over, so what happens when the second to last sun is flipped over? Does the player with one remaining sun get to keep drawing tiles on his own, and can call "Ra" and bid on them with no-one opposing him? This seems a little odd.

share|improve this question
FYI sometimes there's more than one player left when there's only one sun left to go. – ruds Aug 13 '14 at 7:15
@ruds How could this happen? Surely the number if only one player has a sun left, by definition they can be the only one remaining? – tsvallender Aug 13 '14 at 7:16
Oh, I'm sorry, I've misread the question! I was thinking of the situation when there's only one more space for a Ra tile during the epoch. – ruds Aug 13 '14 at 7:17
It's a little odd, but an integral part of the game. I'd also look out for "Grab" or "Simpsons slam dunk", which is a very similar card game (same designer) but played at speed. – xorsyst Aug 15 '14 at 16:20

Seems like yes, I was correct in my original question, the final player gets to keep drawing tiles until the epoch ends, e.g. by the Ra track filling up.

share|improve this answer
It's sort of like a game of chicken -- do I take the current set or risk a Ra tile or plague coming up? – ruds Aug 13 '14 at 7:16

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.