Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

What happens if I sacrifice Teysa, Orzhov Scion along with two other "white and black" creatures (in order to remove another creature from the game) - do I still get my 2 spirit tokens from the other two sacrificed white and black creatures, even though Teysa as well was sacrificed at the same time?

Or is it that when Teysa is sacrificed along with the other two, its 2nd ability doesn't count anymore?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

You will still get the 2 spirit tokens. This is because when creatures die (are put into the graveyard from the battlefield), the game checks what the state of things was just prior to the creatures leaving the battlefield to see if there is anything that needs to trigger.

603.6d Normally, objects that exist immediately after an event are checked to see if the event matched any trigger conditions. Continuous effects that exist at that time are used to determine what the trigger conditions are and what the objects involved in the event look like. However, some triggered abilities must be treated specially. Leaves-the-battlefield abilities, abilities that trigger when a permanent phases out, abilities that trigger when an object that all players can see is put into a hand or library, abilities that trigger specifically when an object becomes unattached, abilities that trigger when a player loses control of an object, and abilities that trigger when a player planeswalks away from a plane will trigger based on their existence, and the appearance of objects, prior to the event rather than afterward. The game has to "look back in time" to determine if these abilities trigger.

share|improve this answer
    
great answer - thanks a lot! –  Klausi Aug 17 at 6:10
1  
@Klausi, If this answers your question, please check the mark next to it. (If not, say what's lacking.) Welcome to B&CG! –  ikegami Aug 17 at 21:34
    
Actually, the creatures don't go to the graveyard at the same time because of rule 601.2g, so rule 603.6d doesn't apply here. –  Pablo Dec 7 at 13:14
1  
I would think that "Sacrifice 3 creatures" counts as all 1 cost, not 3 separate costs to be paid in any order. But I could see it either way. 601.2g isn't clear on this, do you have another reference? –  GendoIkari Dec 7 at 14:36
1  
If my answer were right (I now agree that it isn't, so I have deleted it), 603.6d would not be relevant, because the time when an ability is put on the sack is not the same that the time when an ability triggers, and 603.6d is only about the latter. –  Pablo Dec 9 at 20:45

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.