Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Having read When does Heroic trigger? I think the answer is yes, but I'd just like to double check:

I have Akroan Crusader and I cast Nyxborn Rollicker for its bestow cost so my stack looks like (LIFO):

  • heroic trigger (token creature)
  • Rollicker

My opponent then casts Disperse on my crusader:

  • Disperse targeting crusader
  • heroic trigger (token creature)
  • Rollicker

That's the final play, so after the stack resolves the creatures I should have are a 1/1 red soldier with haste (token) and a Nyxborn Rollicker. Is that correct?

share|improve this question
Abilities on the stack exist independently of their source. If information about its source is required and the source no longer exists, use last known information (LKI). – ikegami Aug 19 '14 at 11:10
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Yes. Abilities still resolve if the creature that created them is gone*, or cards like Torch Fiend would be a little bit useless. This is because of the following rule:

112.7a Once activated or triggered, an ability exists on the stack independently of its source. Destruction or removal of the source after that time won’t affect the ability. [...]

So in this case: your Akroan Crusader gets targeted by a spell, and puts a triggered ability on the stack. Even if the Crusader goes away, the ability still resolves. Then your Nyxborn Rollicker enters the battlefield as a creature instead, since its target is gone.

* Other stuff can make it fail to resolve, such as if the ability has targets and all its targets are now illegal - see rule 608.2b. But the originating creature dying won't do anything to prevent the ability from resolving.

share|improve this answer
Good point about the Torch Fiend. I hadn't thought about it that way. – Matt Ellen Aug 19 '14 at 8:28
You might want to add that the ability still resolves if it still has legal targets. If it targets the creature it came from, for example, it would not resolve. – murgatroid99 Aug 26 '14 at 3:48
@murgatroid99 added, sound ok? – doppelgreener Aug 26 '14 at 4:06
Looks good to me – murgatroid99 Aug 26 '14 at 4:06

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.