Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In a recent game of Power Grid, someone we play with regularly insisted on a rule that you're not allowed to purchase a "lower" technology power plant than you already have. e.g. if you have 13,17,25 as your power plants, you can't buy 24 or lower if they come up.

He also insisted that if a player didn't win their power plant auction that the market isn't refreshed before they got another chance to bid. e.g. Player A bids cost, player B bids cost + 1 and player A decides not to bid higher. In this scenario player A only gets to choose from the 3 remaining plants next.

The question: are these official rules? I have scanned the rule book and didn't see either, but may have missed them... I also found them quite hard to work with.

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 9 down vote accepted

someone we play with regularly insisted on a rule that you're not allowed to purchase a "lower" technology power plant than you already have. e.g. if you have 13,17,25 as your power plants, you can't buy 24 or lower if they come up.

Incorrect. You can buy any power plant that is in the market (the lowest four numbered plants).

if a player didn't win their power plant auction that the market isn't refreshed before they got another chance to bid.

Incorrect. After any power plant is purchased or destroyed, the market is immediately refreshed and realigned.

http://riograndegames.com/uploads/Game/Game_5_gameRules.pdf

Page 3, section 2b (this is retyped and not copy-pasted, so there may be typos)

The player chooses one power plant from the actual market (top row) and then makes a bid to purchase it. [...] He pays his highest bid to the bank and takes the power plant. Players then immediately draw a new card to replace the card sold and place the new card in the market.

share|improve this answer
    
Brilliant, thanks. I didn't think they were "real" rules but before I argue the toss next time wanted to get an answer from someone more familiar than I. –  Phil Sumner Aug 21 at 9:01

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.