Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Maybe I'm missing this from somewhere, but a situation came up in a recent game that I need clarification on.

  • The runner plays Dirty Laundry on a remote server with no ICE and only one card installed in the server.
  • The corp, before the runner can declare the run successful, rezzes that card. That card is Jackson Howard.
  • The corp trashes and removes Jackson Howard from the game, using his ability.

At this point, what happens to the run the runner was on? The server is technically destroyed. I get it that the runner can't access any cards at that point, since there is nothing else in the server. But when is the server considered 'destroyed'? Immediately after Jackson is trashed? Or does the runner get to finish their turn, access all the cards in the server (which is 0), and consider it a successful run? This has implications for run cards, obviously, but it also has implications for cards like John Masanori. If John gives you a tag on your first unsuccessful run, this is an easy way to tag a runner with their own cards.

share|improve this question
up vote 13 down vote accepted

From the official FAQ, page 4:

Destruction of Servers


If there are no cards installed in or protecting a remote server, then the server immediately ceases to exist. If a server ceases to exist during a run, the run immediately ends. Unless the run has passed step 4.4 of the timing structure of a run, it is not considered to be successful or unsuccessful.

In particular, you do not gain money for Dirty Laundry and neither do you draw a card nor do you take a tag for John Masanori as the run was neither successful nor unsuccessful. A run like this also doesn’t allow the corp to play cards like Successful Demonstration on his or her next turn.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.