Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In an EDH (Commander) game recently, Alice used Thada Adel, Acquisitor to steal an artifact out of Bob's deck, the Elixir of Immortality, and cast it.

That artifact's ability says:

{2}, {T}: You gain 5 life. Shuffle Elixir of Immortality and your graveyard into your library.

When Alice uses that ability, what happens to the artifact? Does it go into Bob's graveyard or get shuffled into Alice's library? Does Alice still even shuffle her graveyard into her library and gain 5 life?

Thada Adel, Acquisitor Elixir of Immortality

share|improve this question
Those are Magic cards? Wow, those have changed since I used to play back in the days of the Revised Edition. – keithjgrant Dec 22 '10 at 22:39
Yeah, those are both cards that have come out in the last year or so. The design is really nice. – joshdick Dec 23 '10 at 15:24
up vote 18 down vote accepted

It goes into Bob's library (the owner of the card).

From the Comprehensive Rules:

400.3. If an object would go to any library, graveyard, or hand other than its owner’s, it goes to its owner’s corresponding zone.

There is also specific errata on the Elixir

Elixir of Immortality - {1} Artifact {2}, {T}: You gain 5 life. Shuffle Elixir of Immortality and your graveyard into their owner's library.

This new wording correctly instructs the player as to what to do in the case where the controller of the ability does not own Elixir of Immortality.

Please pass this information on to other interested parties who may not have received it.

share|improve this answer
You would still shuffle your own graveyard into your library as well as gain 5 life though, I imagine. – thesunneversets Dec 29 '10 at 4:11
Note that the Oracle wording is always the current and correct wording of a card; don't necessarily trust what's printed on the card. – GendoIkari Jul 23 at 21:15

Yes you are right, the elixir of immortality will raise the number of lives (as you said 5) and it will become difficult to defeat her, You might require more power for that though.

share|improve this answer
This doesn't answer most of the question; it doesn't address what gets shuffled into whose library at all. – murgatroid99 Jul 23 at 18:01

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.