Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Puzzle Strike, the "Pilebunker" chip says:

Opponents reveal their hands, trash their largest [Gem chip], then you gain that many [1 Gems chip]s.

How does this work when trashing 2-Gem, 3-Gem, or 4-Gem chips?

More specific example: if it's a 2 player game and I play Pilebunker, and my opponent trashes a 4-Gem chip, which do i gain?

  • 1 1-Gem chip, or
  • 4 1-Gem chips?

Edit: As per @lilserf's answer, I had misread the tile completely. A full list of tiles can be found here. And here is what the chip actually says:

Pilebunker: +1 Chip. Opponents reveal their hands, trash their largest (Gem chip), then gain that many (1 Gems chip)s.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer 1

up vote 8 down vote accepted

You don't gain anything!

Pilebunker's actual wording is:

Opponents reveal their hands, trash their largest [Gem chip], then gain that many [1 Gem chip]s.

Note that it's "then gain", not "then you gain" - each opponent gains the 1-Gems. Pilebunker effectively splits their biggest gem in their hand into 1-gems, diluting their deck.

share|improve this answer
    
Wow, if that's true then both me and a friend both misread the tile completely. –  Mag Roader Oct 20 '10 at 14:12
    
I too played this one wrong today. We went back and forth discussing possible interpretations, and decided that just breaking up the opponents' gems didn't seem powerful enough, and that it must be conferring some transfer of benefit to the holder. Of course, I wound up losing that game anyway -- perhaps for having too many 1-gems in my own hand. –  seh Feb 12 '11 at 22:04
1  
Yeah, breaking the opponent's gems actually turns out to be INCREDIBLY annoying and plenty powerful, though it doesn't seem so at first. –  lilserf Feb 13 '11 at 2:05
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.