Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

In Monopoly Deal, if I'm forced to sell off one of my properties, and that property is part of a complete set with a House on it, what happens to the House?

I would think it should be discarded, but this came up today and I wasn't sure what the proper ruling was.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 5 down vote accepted

This question is probably too old to be answered again, but the accepted answer sounds incorrect according to several sources.

http://monopoly.wikia.com/wiki/Monopoly_Deal

If a property set has a House/Hotel on it and the property set is broken up, the House/Hotel is moved to the owner's bank, per Hasbro.

http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/375594/rules-clarification

Hasbro wrote:
If you break up a full set that has houses and hotels, those houses and hotels have to go into your bank.

And you probably had stop playing. But might be useful for new players like me :)

share|improve this answer
    
Excellent - thanks for your research. –  Matt Dillard May 12 '11 at 17:22

During your turn, the House can be moved to any other set.

If you don't have one, or it isn't your turn then just leave the House on the table in play for you until you are able to attach it to a set again.

share|improve this answer
    
That makes perfect sense; once the card has been played, there's no point in penalizing the player just because the card is not relevant for a little while (especially in a simple game like Monopoly Deal). –  Matt Dillard Oct 22 '10 at 4:25

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.