Is a player in checkers required to take a jump if one is available? What about a double or triple jump if that is available?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
In short -- for tournaments, yes.
I never played with forced jumps as a kid, but my father-in-law always plays with forced jumps. So I did a little digging around, and this is what I found:
The American Checker Federation seems to be the only sanctioned checkers organization I could find. According to the American Checker Federation, rule #1.20 says
I've always had the same rules that this article does (Rule 9), if you can jump, you have to jump at least once, but you don't have to jump any more than that.
There are many different Checkers variants, but I believe most of them use a forced capture rule.
There are many variants of checkers/draughts, and for all of them (including the Checkers variant played predominantly in the English-speaking world), not only is jumping compulsory, it is also compulsory to keep jumping until all the jumps are completed. Quote from the American Checkers Federation's official rulebook:
However, the rules for selecting among multiple ways to jump differs from variant to variant. E.g. for International draughts, the sequence with the most jumped pieces has to be selected, and for Italian draughts there are even further tie-breaker rules depending on the number of kings that are being captured.
protected by ire_and_curses♦ Oct 7 '13 at 22:03
Thank you for your interest in this question.
Because it has attracted low-quality or spam answers that had to be removed, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site.
Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?