Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

This had never even crossed my mind as an issue before, but someone brought it up in a comment on another TTR-related question, and having checked the USA rulebook I'm no longer 100% sure:

When calculating who gets the "Longest Route" bonus card, do you go by number of train cars in the route, or number of links/cities in the route?

I suspect the official answer will be well-known to anyone who plays a lot of Ticket To Ride online, but for those of us who don't... what's the correct interpretation?

share|improve this question

1 Answer 1

up vote 20 down vote accepted

The owner of the longest continuous number of train cars is the winner. (It works just like longest road in Settlers of Catan)

Here is an image provided my Matthew Frederick from his original edition of the game. He also notes that the online versions provided by Days of Wonder work this way. alt text

share|improve this answer
    
That's what I always assumed, I'd hate to have been playing the game wrong for all these years! The other way would create an interesting tension with the natural impulse to build longer routes (because they're worth more points in and off themselves) though. –  thesunneversets Jan 11 '11 at 18:14
1  
It's definitely, absolutely, positively the number of train cars. The Longest Path card itself -- at least in the original edition that I own -- shows an example, noting that Black has 11 and Blue has 8, with the picture showing 11 and 8 train cars. It's also how the Days Of Wonder owned-and-operated online version works. –  Matthew Frederick Jan 13 '11 at 1:34
1  
@TheChaz - it may be worth another question to more strictly define this. My interpretation would be that you could form a loop (and thus intersect), but the termination of the loop would be the endpoint of the whole chain. –  Pat Ludwig Mar 8 '12 at 15:02
1  
@TheChaz The path can indeed self-intersect; you simply cannot use any train car twice. Loops are fine, and the route need not terminate at the end of such a loop as long as, again, you do not count any train car twice. No interpretation is required as long as you follow that rule. FWIW this is both how the rule was explained to me by the game's designer, Alan Moon, and how it's scored in the official computerized versions, both on the publisher's website and on the iPad and iPhone apps. –  Matthew Frederick Mar 8 '12 at 21:25
2  
@TheChaz For those of a more Wikipedian mindset who'd like a third-party reference, here's one of the publishers, Eric Hautemont, answering the question on BoardGameGeek: boardgamegeek.com/thread/19560/longest-path-questionj –  Matthew Frederick Mar 8 '12 at 21:54

protected by Alex P Jan 18 at 17:49

Thank you for your interest in this question. Because it has attracted low-quality answers, posting an answer now requires 10 reputation on this site.

Would you like to answer one of these unanswered questions instead?

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.