Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In playing Catan for 2 (the traders and barbarians expansion) on your turn, you roll the dice twice. Can you build or trade in between your dice rolls?

share|improve this question

I would say no, you cannot.

The rules explicitly state what you can do after each roll:

Immediately after each of the two dice rolls, the two real players obtain resources and/or move the robber (a “7” result).

Since there is no mention of building or trading, I would say you could only build and trade after finishing all rolling.

That would make the order is Roll > Get resources > Roll a second time (repeating as necessary to get a different value than the first) > Get resources from second roll > Continue play as normal.

Think of it this way -- you are player two, and the other human player is player four. You are effectively rolling for player one's roll, then you roll for yourself and can buy and trade as normal. Then the other human player rolls for player three, and then they roll for themselves and can buy and trade as normal.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.