Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I've read the manual but don't fully get multi-monster fights. It says you can't chose to fight one, and flee from others. But do you sum up all the monster points and try to beat that in one single combat, or do you fight one monster at a time?

share|improve this question
And, wait, you are fighting one monster and other ones are noble and don't take part in the duel? :-) – begemodko Feb 1 '11 at 11:31

The monsters combine their strengths: you don't fight them one at a time.

This was confirmed by the "Munchkin Czar" at the Steve Jackson Games Forums, and who would dare to argue with a Munchkin Czar? (You may find extra clarification of how multi-monster fighting works by reading through the thread, if you're still at all confused.)

share|improve this answer
You sum their levels, bonuses, and dice, correct? – Peeja Feb 9 '11 at 22:03
@Peeja, exactly. – begemodko Feb 16 '11 at 9:28

Agreed here, however:

  • Monsters combine their strengths for a combat score.
  • Buffs and weaknesses apply to one monster at a time.
  • You can only interfere with up to one monster at a time, unless you have a card that says otherwise.
    • Example: You can only make one monster humongous. However, a thief's backstab ability applies to the sum of all combat strength.
  • You must run away from each monster if you lose separately. Damage is taken from each monster, and "bad stuff" can happen to you multiple times.
share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.