Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The cost to use an Elder Sign to seal a gate is 1 Sanity and 1 Stamina. If you are at 1 on either one of these (or both), can you essentially sacrifice yourself in order to use it? Will the sealing occur before you become insane/wounded/devoured?

share|improve this question
up vote 18 down vote accepted


This is explicitly allowed in the rule book, p18

To use an elder sign, do the following:

The player removes 1 Sanity and 1 Stamina from his investigator sheet. This may knock the investigator unconscious or drive him insane, but the elder sign still takes effect.

share|improve this answer

Pat has come up with an authoritative answer, but even if the rulebook had left things ambiguous, that scenario sounds so atmospheric that, if it were my house and it came up, I would definitely want to allow it.

Arkham Horror is a game that thrives on its atmosphere: if something so cinematic was disallowed by the rules, I'd feel a bit cheated by them!

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.