Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In the Citadels: Dark City expansion the Wishing Well purple district card reads as follows:

At the end of the game, you score one point for every other purple district in your city

The italicization is actually printed on the card.

Does the means "every purple district that is not this card" or "every second purple district"? If you had this and 3 other purple districts at the end of the game, would you have 3 extra points or 2?

I'm leaning toward the first one, because it seems more balanced and the second would suggest a bit more clarification.

Feel really stupid but asked anyway. Does anyone think this questions is valuable enough to leave up?

share|improve this question
up vote 9 down vote accepted

I was 99% sure that that must mean "every purple district that is not this card", as you suspect. But how to prove that for sure? My first thought in such matters is to look at foreign versions of the cards. Rules text that is ambiguous in English is sometimes much clearer when read in other languages.

I haven't (yet) found a scan of a foreign version of Wishing Well... but this French page, (which contains a comment by Bruno Faidutti the game designer himself, so it must be fairly respectable!) seems to suggest that the text of Fontaine aux Souhaits is along the lines of "autres batiments violets" counting for +1; and I think you'd be hard pressed to translate that as "every second purple building".


I'm going to keep looking for card scans I guess, but I'm pretty sure we're en route to the right answer here. (What language was Citadels first published in, does anyone know?)

share|improve this answer
Awesome justification! Citadels does seem to have a lot of rule ambiguities, and being published in English as an afterthought would help explain that. :) – Gordon Gustafson Feb 5 '11 at 3:16
Earliest Luding cite is the French version (1999) – Pat Ludwig Feb 5 '11 at 6:04
I have always played it this way. – Todd Feb 6 '11 at 3:34

I have the German Ohne Furcht und Adel version in the tin. The Dark Lands. The rule book gives clarification on a handful of purple cards. It is quite clear. The Wishing Well itself does NOT get an extra point.

share|improve this answer
so if you had the wishing well and 3 other purples would you get 2 points or 3? – Gordon Gustafson Feb 15 '11 at 0:51

You have -this- purple district card (wishing well) and you have -other- purple district cards. Count them up minus the wishing well and that is the number of points.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.