Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can you pay with houses or hotels or do they remain with you forever?

share|improve this question
up vote 10 down vote accepted

From the Monopoly Deal FAQ (scroll down to near the end):


A - You can choose to pay:

  • from your Bank (with money or Action cards that you've Banked as money),
  • with Property cards, or
  • with a combination of both.

Remember, you can only pay with cards that are on the table in front of you, never with cards from your hand.

You cannot pay with Houses or Hotels you have on properties because they are not in your bank nor are they Property cards themselves. If you had Banked them, you could use them to pay for things.

share|improve this answer

However, if a player charges you money and you decide to pay with some of the property from your completed set that includes a House and/or Hotel, the House or Hotel must be placed on the table next to your property section until you complete another set and it can be placed on top. You can also pay with your house or hotel card if you choose.

source :

share|improve this answer

The rules (which you can check on this Monopoly wiki page) say that you absolutely cannot play cards from your hand. You can put hotels and houses into your bank though.

share|improve this answer

You can pay with ANYTHING (property or from the bank) But not from your hand.

share|improve this answer
Hi! Welcome to the site. Can you cite your source for the above? – Pat Ludwig Jul 4 '11 at 6:39
the manual that came with the game. – ProSay Jul 4 '11 at 6:40
Thanks, could you make clear how your answer differs from the already accepted one? – Pat Ludwig Jul 4 '11 at 13:43
not much but my answer is much more simpler. – ProSay Jul 4 '11 at 14:00
I don't have much reputation, but if I did, I would put a down vote and I will when I get 125 reputation if unless you put something unique in your answer. – danilka1 Jan 1 '13 at 18:33

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.