Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

We were playing Cities and Knights at the weekend and halfway through the game realised that no one had earned the largest army card. The reason behind this was that no one knew what it was earned for. A couple of us scanned through the rule book in search of the answer, but to no avail.

Having since looked at the Wikipedia page (linked above) I see that it's the player with the most knight points, but do the knights have to be active, and is there a minimum requirement?

share|improve this question
add comment

2 Answers 2

up vote 13 down vote accepted

The Largest Army card is not used in Cities and Knights.

See the rulebook p2, under "What you need from your Settlers game"

Set aside ...

  • The Largest Army card
share|improve this answer
    
Hmm! The depressing thing is that we played the game correctly then - it took a g e s :-) We'll have to play with the suggestions from here next time: boardgames.stackexchange.com/questions/2565/… –  tttppp Feb 15 '11 at 8:41
2  
I find playing with new players nearly doubles the time to play Cities and Knights (two and a bit hours instead of one and a bit). Your next game is likely to be much quicker. –  Timothy Jones Oct 7 '12 at 23:08
add comment

As Pat indicates in his answer, the Largest Army card is not used.

The second part of this question hints at the Defender of Catan points that are awarded, which sort of take the place of Largest Army. When the barbarians reach Catan, if the total strength of active knights equals or exceeds the total number of cities, the player with the most total strength in active knights receives one permanent VP. (If the total strength of active knights is not enough, the player with the least strength has a city sacked, downgrading it to a settlement.) See p. 11 of the rulebook.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.