Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can you play an item card (like a Barrel) if you don't already have one, but someone else does?

share|improve this question
Is thesunneversets' answer correct? If so, it would be helpful to mark his answer as accepted. – LittleBobbyTables May 21 '11 at 12:27
@LittleBobbyTables -- Quite correct, and so marked. – GWLlosa May 21 '11 at 19:30
up vote 4 down vote accepted

Certainly you can. Per the rules:

no player can ever have two identical cards face up in front of him.

There is no restriction on an identical card being face up in front of another person!

share|improve this answer
Doh! We were reading "in front of him" as "on the table"... – GWLlosa Feb 17 '11 at 21:04
Actually there is a character from an expansion that causes other players to discard an item if he plays the same item. – Joe W Jan 23 '14 at 15:42

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.