Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

In a game we just finished one player used the Surveyor's Map minor improvement. When the field came up in round 11, he couldn't place it adjacently to his existing fields. Should we have allowed him to place it elsewhere?

share|improve this question
up vote 3 down vote accepted

As far as I know there is no official ruling on this. However, most people seem to agree that the field should still obey the general rule for placing fields, i.e. it needs to be placed orthogonal to an existing field. This is for example the ruling for Surveyor's Map on page 28 of the unofficial Agricola compendium:

Surveyor's Map M018

Place a field tile on the space for round 11, a moor tile on round 12, and a forest tile > on round 13. At the start of the rounds, you must either place the tile on an empty space in your farm or return it to the supply.

=> Placing the field tile does not count as a ploughing action.

=> If you already have fields, you must place the field tile adjacent to an existing field.

share|improve this answer
Excellent - thank you! This is a new addition to the compendium in version 9.0 - we checked our version 8.0 copy. – tttppp Feb 21 '11 at 11:45

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.