Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

I've been hunting everywhere for this and am leaning toward the answer being yes but can't find it explicitly stated anywhere: is his nobs (or knobs) separate from a flush in cribbage? For example, would a hand of of all hearts (1,2,3,J) and a starter card of a 4 of hearts... would you award 5 points for the flush and a point for knobs? Or just 5 points for the flush since the matching suit of the jack and starter card are already counted in the flush?

I'm new to the game and thus perhaps my lack of playing with more experienced players and having this situation actually come up has not occurred. I still can't find it online. Rule sites will list a flush and knobs but not state what to do when both occur.

Thanks!

share|improve this question
    
The flush/starter card special rule you may be thinking of is that a flush in the crib must include the starter. So four hearts in the crib with a club starter is not a flush. –  Ben Jackson Feb 22 '11 at 0:50

1 Answer 1

up vote 12 down vote accepted

Nobs is counted separately. It will always be one extra point if it is in your hand or in the crib. Likewise, nibs (if a jack is cut for the dealer) is always two points, and the dealer still gets to count the jack for a flush if the suit matches.

Rules of Cribbage.

share|improve this answer
    
Awesome -- that was my hunch, but thanks for confirming! I'd upvote you but don't even have the points to do so :) –  Hendy Feb 21 '11 at 21:29
    
For the record: The proposed hand of A23J of hearts, with 4 of hearts as starter, would score a total of 14 - A4J is 15 for 2, 23J is 15 for 2 more, the A234 run is 4, A234J flush is 5, and the knob is 1. –  Iszi Feb 24 '12 at 4:48

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.