Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If you get a player down to 0 life can he still use Soul Conduit's ability and swap life totals with another player killing that player instead?

share|improve this question

No, unless the player has a "Cannot lose" effect in play, like Platinum Angel.

When a player goes to 0 life, before priority is regained (and the player able to activate Soul Conduit), state-based actions are checked and the player loses the game.

Even if the ability were on the stack, it doesn't resolve before state-based actions, again. (e.g. 1 life, activate Conduit, use Underworld Connections)

share|improve this answer

No, you cannot do that.

When you go down to zero life, you lose the game immediately, before you have a chance to do anything.

The exception is if you have a card that prevents you from losing the game for having 0 or less life, such as Platinum Angel or Phyrexian Unlife. If you have one of those, then you will be able to act while you have 0 life, and you will have the opportunity to set another player's life total to 0.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.