Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Can an imprinted spell be kicked when it is cast ?

For example : Isochron Scepter and Orim's Chant

Can I pay the kicker cost each time I activate Isochron Scepter?

share|improve this question
    
So you can cast the copy once per the opponent's turn?! That is nuts! How would an opponent defend against that if they can't play any spells or attack? – dmikester1 Jan 29 at 17:39
2  
Presumably, play cards on your turn to cancel it? – Joe Jan 29 at 18:12
2  
Or cast spells in response and/or before it is activated – diego Jan 29 at 19:41
    
@Jefromi Yes, I understand - I was responding to the comment above (dmikester's). And from the point of view switched - "They" are the ones "you" are playing it on, so "they" would play on "your" turn to cancel it. – Joe Jan 29 at 22:33
3  
Possible duplicate of Hideaway Lands and Additional Costs. I know that this is the older question, but the newer question uses better terminology: Does casting a spell for free prevent a player from paying additional costs? For that reason, I am closing this one as a duplicate of the newer one. – Rainbolt Jun 23 at 14:28
up vote 13 down vote accepted

Yes you can pay for Kicker when you can a spell off of the Scepter. The Scepter gives your spell an Alternative Cost, and Kicker is an Additional Cost. These work together to make the full cost of the spell. So you pay {2} to activate the Scepter and then when you cast the Chant you can pay an additional {W} if you want to kick it.

117.9. Some spells have alternative costs. An alternative cost is a cost listed in a spell’s text, or applied to it from another effect, that its controller may pay rather than paying the spell’s mana cost. Alternative costs are usually phrased, “You may [action] rather than pay [this object’s] mana cost,” or “You may cast [this object] without paying its mana cost.”

117.9d If an alternative cost is being paid to cast a spell, any additional costs, cost increases, and cost reductions that affect that spell are applied to that alternative cost. (See rule 601.2f.)

702.32a Kicker is a static ability that functions while the spell with kicker is on the stack. “Kicker [cost]” means “You may pay an additional [cost] as you cast this spell.”

Also from the rulings on Gatherer:

You don't pay the spell's mana cost. If the spell has X in its mana cost, X is 0. You do pay any additional costs for that spell. You can't use any alternative costs.

share|improve this answer

Yes you can. When casting a spell w/o paying it's mana cost, you are allowed/required to pay any additional costs. The only cost you ignore is the one printed in the top right.

117.8. Some spells and abilities have additional costs. An additional cost is a cost listed in a spell’s rules text, or applied to a spell or ability from another effect, that its controller must pay at the same time that player pays the spell’s mana cost or the ability’s activation cost. A cost is an additional cost only if it’s phrased using the word “additional.” Note that some additional costs are listed in keywords; see rule 702

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.