Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I was playing a game with someone and they said they do because planeswalkers can't attack, so the tokens created by them count as commander creatures. Is that true? I can't find any rules that talk about this.

share|improve this question
5  
I assume that the planeswalker in question was a commander? Otherwise I'm not sure I see the logic. – Jefromi Feb 2 at 23:11
    
If your planeswalker commander had an ability like Gideon's and could turn into a creature or if you use something like Mycosynth Lattice and March of the Machines, then your planeswalker can kill someone with commander damage. – Andrew May 19 at 20:57

Rule 903.3 says

Each deck has a legendary creature card designated as its commander. This designation is not a characteristic of the object represented by the card; rather, it is an attribute of the card itself. The card retains this designation even when it changes zones.

Only the cards that start the game as commanders count as commanders and can deal commander damage.

share|improve this answer
    
Well, technically any card that started as a commander can deal commander damage. :) – Hao Ye Feb 2 at 22:52
    
Apply my statement over all players and it's the same thing. – murgatroid99 Feb 2 at 22:56
    
@murgatorid99 - but you can gain control of someone else's commander and deal commander damage with it. As written, your sentence may be interpreted to mean that only your commander can deal commander damage (on your behalf). – Hao Ye Feb 2 at 23:19
2  
OK, I changed it. Is that better? – murgatroid99 Feb 2 at 23:36

No, the token does not count. Being a commander is a property of the card itself, and is non-transferable.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.