Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

So I've been playing an Abzan displacer deck for some time now and the following interaction only just occurred to me:

I have an Eldrazi Displacer and a Wasteland Strangler in play and my opponant has two creatures.

Can I target one of his creatures, and then in response to it entering the battlefield being on top of the stack (whilst it's still in exile) flicker my wasteland strangler and put that creature into the graveyard from exile instead of back on the battlefield and obviously give another creature -3/-3?

I think the crux of the question is: is the creature targeted by eldrazi displacer intractable whilst in exile?

share|improve this question
    
OTOH, Wasteland Strangler's ability could move a card exiled with Otherworldly Journey or Journey to Nowhere into its owner's graveyard. If it did, the card wouldn't return the battlefield. – ikegami Feb 14 at 2:57
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Specifically, the effect of Displacer, while the ability itself uses the stack, the creature actually blinked is not on the stack. When the ability resolves, the entirety of the ability happens, before priority is regained.

share|improve this answer

Specifically for Eldrazi Displacer, no. Its ability's effects all resolve at once, so the creature will be exiled and be put back onto the battlefield immediately. Unlike say, Flickerwisp, there is no delay in returning the creature, so there is no chance for you to target it in exile.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.