Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

For example, I have this hand. 3 coins, one market, one library. So first I play the market, then buy something with the coins (plus 1 coin from the market) and then play the library having nothing in my hand because I already used the coins and the market (so I draw seven cards or even more). Is that right?

share|improve this question
In addition to the correct answer below; you seem to be misunderstanding a few things. You CANNOT play treasure cards in your action phase; you must wait until your buy phase. Also, you don't "buy things with Copper". Copper is a card that, when played, produces coin/money that you can spend, just like Market and Woodcutter do. In your buy phase, you play whatever treasure cards you want, then add up all coin you've produced this turn (from treasure cards + action cards), then buy what you want. – GendoIkari Feb 29 at 17:48
@GendoIkari As an edge case, Black Market allows you to play treasure cards in the action phase. – Philip Kendall Feb 29 at 22:08
@PhilipKendall So does Storyteller, but it didn't seem necessary to mention edge cases like this when explaining the very basics. – GendoIkari Mar 1 at 5:24
@GendoIkar, thanks I do know that, I have played Dominion more than 20 times. I just wasn't sure about the buy and action phase order particularly in this case. – 8odoros Mar 1 at 7:57
up vote 34 down vote accepted

From the rules:

"The player must complete all of his Actions before he moves on to the Buy phase of his turn."

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.