Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

I have a situation where a player chooses the Trader because it has 5 coins even though he has nothing to sell in the trading house. Can he do it?

share|improve this question
up vote 15 down vote accepted

Taken from the rules:

Implementing the action of a character is voluntary (exception: Captain)

Note: You can still choose Captain if you have no goods, the exception just means that if you pull Captain and have goods, you have to ship.

share|improve this answer
this does not mean that you can't pick captain if you have no good – Andrey Mar 15 '11 at 13:27
Just to clarify even further, the other players get a chance to take the action of the role you choose, even if you elect not to. – thesunneversets Mar 15 '11 at 16:59


Choosing a role merely for it's privilege is a perfectly valid move. It may not always be wise to choose a role you cannot fully take advantage of but if you are really short on cash such a trade off may be warranted...

share|improve this answer
as an addendum: This is also a good way to screw with your opponents. – My Turn Yet Mar 15 '11 at 15:57

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.