Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Say I have a hand like follows: Estate, Upgrade, Upgrade, Estate, Copper. 1 card in Draw pile.

I play Upgrade (+1 card, +1 action) -> Draw the last card from my Draw pile -> Trash Estate from my hand and gain a Silver card. This silver card goes into discard. So far so good.

Now, I play my second Upgrade. Since there's no card in my Draw pile, I need to shuffle my Discard pile. Do I shuffle my silver card that I just gained or does do I leave it in the "discard-of-the-current-turn" pile.

The general question is, if I need to shuffle my discard, do I shuffle all cards that I gained during the current turn? I know that I do not shuffle cards that I have set aside.

share|improve this question
    
I feel like I have seen this question here before... but was unable to find it via searching. –  MrHen Mar 18 '11 at 18:30
    
I went through all questions that are tagged "dominion" and couldn't find it. –  David Mar 18 '11 at 18:37
    
Yeah, I am not blaming you for anything. I just could have sworn I saw this question here. Maybe it was on another site... –  MrHen Mar 18 '11 at 18:44
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 13 down vote accepted

You include the card you just gained when re-shuffling. There is only one discard pile.

Cards that are set aside or revealed do not get re-shuffled until they are placed in the the discard pile as specified by the specific card.

Quotes from the rulebook:

"Gain” – when a player gains a card, he takes the gained card (usually from the Supply) and puts it onto his Discard pile (unless the card says to put it elsewhere). The player does not get to use the card when he gains it.


A player places cards he Buys or otherwise acquires during the game on his Discard pile unless he is specifically directed to place them elsewhere.

share|improve this answer
    
This is correct. Another odd end-case is Island or Native Village: You can end up setting aside a card you just gained. –  MrHen Mar 18 '11 at 18:31
1  
I actually used this in several games - to draw all of my deck, and then gain a card and immediately put it into play by drawing one more card. –  idan315 Mar 19 '11 at 10:44
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.