Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

The rules of the French edition of Pandemic are a little unclear about the following game situation. Once a cure for a disease (let's say blue) has been found, at any point the Medic is in an infected city, what happens?

(a) the city is instantaneously cleaned, or
(b) the whole disease is wiped from the board?

The literal wording of the French rules may be construed to mean (b), but after only one game like this, it seemed to make the game so easy to win that we felt it was obvious it had to be (a) instead.

share|improve this question

2 Answers 2

up vote 24 down vote accepted

I hadn't thought about it before, but the English rules could probably have been written a bit more precisely as well. However, your final interpretation is correct, i.e. cubes are only removed from the city the Medic is in.

From page 5 of the rules:

if the Medic at any time finds herself in a city that contains cubes of a disease that has been cured, she may immediately remove all of those cubes.

"Those cubes" would refer only to the cubes in the city she is in.

share|improve this answer

OK, so it occurred to me just to go check the English rules on the internet:

Also, if the Medic at any time finds herself in a city that contains cubes of a disease that has been cured, she may immediately remove all of those cubes.

This is clearer than the French translation, and corresponds to my option (a).

share|improve this answer

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.