Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

If I play a Bureaucrat and my opponent reveals a hand with a Curse card, does that Curse card go back on top of his/her deck? Or does it not count as a "Victory card"?

share|improve this question
up vote 22 down vote accepted

No. Curse cards do not have the type Victory. They just have type Curse.

(You can see this in the rules or by reading the card closely - although they affect your VP total, they do not have "Victory" in the type line, just "Curse").

share|improve this answer


On page 2-3 of the rules you'll see the various types of cards.

  • Treasure
  • Victory
    • Estates
    • Duchies
    • Provinces
  • Curse
  • Randomizer
  • Trash
  • Kingdom

Curse is it's own type of card and not a Victory card. On page 2, the explanation of the Curse card includes "card type, (curse, purple)

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.