Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

One of the mythos cards in the game says that the investigator is out of ammo and that she needs to discard her weapon. Would you interpret this as the card should be removed from the game as oppossed to the cards that says the investigator needs to drop the item, ie. in the current room.

I would have said remove the card if it wasn't for that the investigators have an action called "discard" where they actually drop the items in the current room.

share|improve this question
add comment

1 Answer

up vote 5 down vote accepted

I interpret that card as "Discard means discard. Place in the discard pile."

The action is something that players can do to leave equipment cached for each other.

The mythos card is an act of aggression carried out by the Keeper. It probably costs Threat. There is also zero support in the fiction for a weapon becoming reloaded by being dropped.

EDIT: OK. So, I played Mansions last night for the first time in a while, and came up with this card. It's clearly Discard on the Mythos card and Drop in the Investigator action list. There's no confusion here at all, no interpretation necessary.

share|improve this answer
    
Seems a bit harsh in relation to the cost for the keeper on the other hand weapons are a real pain for the keeper :) I believe you are right though –  Skadlig May 1 '11 at 11:14
    
Yep, you discard the weapon. –  Daniel Lim May 3 '11 at 23:25
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.