Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

There may or may not be a clear definitive ruling on this in the rulebook, but it's something that keeps confusing me in the actual play, so I'll ask anyway. Here are several questions that, when put together, should illustrate the points I'm having difficulty.

  • I play a card that gives me one coin for each brown card in front of me or either of my two neighbours. I personally keep forgetting whether this counts cards that came into play this turn, but a quick check of the rules summary clarifies that yes, these cards are counted.

  • I mistakenly play a card that I (and my neighbours) have insufficient resources to build, when I look closely. Obviously I cannot play the card - but I take it I can still discard it for 3 coins, or to build a section of my Wonder?

  • I mistakenly play a card that I (and my neighbours) are short of resources to build: let's say short by one stone. However, it fortuitously happens that one of my neighbours has built a one- or two-stone quarry this turn. Can I pay him the appropriate fee and build the card? Or can I still only discard it for coins or to build a section of Wonder? My first suspicion was that all building happens simultaneously, so I can't use materials that aren't available at this point - but if the card mentioned in my first example derives benefits from cards played this turn, why can't this?

We could get all MtG on this and break it down into discrete phases: the buy-resources-from-neighbours-phase, the build-with-resources phase, the reap-benefits-from-just-built-cards phase. But that all seems a bit anal for Seven Wonders. Is there an easy solution to the problem of looking left and right to see if your neighbours have the resources you need, and having to ask "errrrrr... so did you play that quarry this turn, or not"? (Apart from not being so scatterbrained, obviously!)

share|improve this question
    
For the 3. question, see: Can I buy resources that were built by my neighbors this turn? –  unor Jan 26 '13 at 1:45
    
The 2. question is similar to the situation when someone mistakenly builds a building twice. –  unor Jan 26 '13 at 1:47

2 Answers 2

up vote 6 down vote accepted

1) Nothing to say for me here ;-)

2) I'm not sure about the actual rules, but I think the penalty of disallowing everything else would be too harsh, as the player loses a complete turn. One could argue if only the three coins should be allowed or building a part of the wonder as well. Personally, I would allow both.

3) Again, not 100% sure: as you cannot use coins that you got this turn, you shouldn't be able to use any resources that have become available in the same turn. My thinking is, everybody builds at the same time and hence completes their building at the same time, so you can't get anything out of another building to complete your own.

share|improve this answer

Bear with me here, I'm new so I'm not sure it's the best place but I just find your situation 3 a very interesting premise for a new way of playing 7 Wonders.

Personally, I've never encountered a situation where someone couldn't play a card that happens he could play it because of a new reveal card from a neighbor.

But, allowing this kind of dynamic you could had a great deal of bluff to the game especially with smaller groups (3 or 4 players). Since you know after 3-4 rounds what cards are in your neighbors hands you could anticipate the cards they might play and play something you couldn't. On the other hand, your neighbors would be in the same situation and could adjust their strategy to prevent you from playing your card.

Could be interesting to give it a try.

share|improve this answer
    
I think this should probably be a comment rather than an answer, technically speaking... (But I agree with you!) –  thesunneversets Jan 31 '13 at 16:53

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.