In Pegs and Jokers, there are two teams of three each. Player A has four pegs in the castle and his fifth peg is two holes away from going in to have all pegs in the castle. Player A wants to play a seven card and move his last peg two holes into the castle (he would then have all five pegs in his castle) and use the remaining five moves to advance a peg belonging to his partner to his left. Is this legal?
- Anybody can ask a question
- Anybody can answer
- The best answers are voted up and rise to the top
I think it depends on the variant that you're playing. This site lists the rules that come into play here. First, the basic rules:
As I read this, the ability to move your partner's pegs depends on the state of the game at the start of your turn. Player A still has pegs out, so he would not be able to split the 7 with his partner's peg; he only has one peg out, so he could not split the 7.
If you're using Arizona Rules, then it would be allowed:
and this situation is explicitly mentioned in the North Carolina Rules:
Because it's explicitly mentioned in the last variant, I do not think it is permitted in basic play.
We ordered a Pegs & Jokers board and it came with rules. It does specify that the 7 or 9 can be split with your partner to the left, when moving your last peg into your castle, as long as that partner has a peg in play.
This would be legal the way we play. Putting your last peg in the castle using say 3 of a seven and finishing your move by moving your partner's peg on the outside track the rest of the seven say 4. (or any other split of a seven combination). Our group have agreed to use the "Basic Rules" with one variation (Don't have to use the Left Hand partner, your choice but only one at a time) AND the addition of the Arizona rule of 9 being split( part forward and the other part backwards) We find this speeds-up the game and makes for a better game.