Situation: in Pegs and Jokers, there are two teams of three each. Player A has four pegs in the castle and his fifth peg is two holes away from going in to have all pegs in the castle. Player A wants to play a seven card and move his last peg two holes into the castle (he would then have all five pegs in his castle) and use the remaining five moves to advance a peg belonging to his partner to his left. Is this legal?
We ordered a Pegs & Jokers board and it came with rules. It does specify that the 7 or 9 can be split with your partner to the left, when moving your last peg into your castle, as long as that partner has a peg in play.
I think it depends on the variant that you're playing. This site lists the rules that come into play here. First, the basic rules:
As I read this, the ability to move your partner's pegs depends on the state of the game at the start of your turn. Player A still has pegs out, so he would not be able to split the 7 with his partner's peg; he only has one peg out, so he could not split the 7.
If you're using Arizona Rules, then it would be allowed:
and this situation is explicitly mentioned in the North Carolina Rules:
Because it's explicitly mentioned in the last variant, I do not think it is permitted in basic play.