Take the 2-minute tour ×
Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. It's 100% free, no registration required.

Does Throne Room cause a Possession card to give you control over two extra turns? I can see it argued both ways convincingly, so I'm looking for an authoritative answer. Google has thus far failed to get me one.

I expect this to be the same as playing the possession card twice on your turn, and related to King's Court.

share|improve this question
    
The one-line answer is very poorly for the victim. –  Gregor May 5 at 18:00
add comment

2 Answers

up vote 7 down vote accepted

From page 3 of the Alchemy Kingdom Card Description pamphlet:
— Possession is cumulative; if you play it twice in one turn, there will be two extra turns after this one.

Also, for reference:
enter image description here

share|improve this answer
2  
However, I prefer to not play with Possession. In my experience it's not a very fun card, unless you're playing with a group of competitively-minded people who will play again if they are totally trounced, which Possession can cause to happen. –  Andrew Vandever May 5 '11 at 22:33
    
And yes, Throne Room causes you to play a card twice, and King's Court thrice, so the rules definitely would call for multiple possessed turns in this case. Crazy. –  Andrew Vandever May 5 '11 at 22:34
    
That's exactly what I was looking for. I seem to have missed that whole page while reading the rules. –  nmichaels May 5 '11 at 22:41
1  
The real question, speaking as a longtime Magic player, is whether it's possible to take INFINITE turns on behalf of the player to your left, or failing that, as many turns as logistically permitted by some combination of cards... –  thesunneversets May 5 '11 at 23:45
    
I think I could chop up and rephrase half your question as "Is it possible to take as many turns as permitted?" Yes. –  Andrew Vandever May 6 '11 at 0:32
show 5 more comments

The logic on this is very simple, "Throne Room" causes the action to take place twice. That means that "Possession" will occur once, resolve all the way through the first turn, then it will occur a second time, as if you had played another copy of the card that turn.

share|improve this answer
add comment

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.