Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

An example:

  O
 O?

There is a triple letter tile to the right of the bottom O, indicated with a ?.

If I place an X on it, making the words OX (vertical) and OX (horizontal), do I score 50 points (scoring the tile twice) or 34 (scoring it once)?

share|improve this question
    
Spelling OX or AX (and now ZA or KI/QI thanks to the updates) going multiple directions on any sort of bonus tile is pretty awesome if you can pull it off. It might not give you as many points as a bingo, but its certainly an attractive option. – LittleBobbyTables May 26 '11 at 0:23
1  
This is pretty much how I play. You'd be surprised how well you can do by catching a triple-letter tile twice. – dpwilson Jan 7 at 19:53

Yes, you score it twice as long as the double/triple letter/word tile was covered up by your current play.

From the rules:

When two or more words are formed in the same play, each is scored. The common letter is counted (with full premium value, if any) for each word. (See Turns 3, 4 and 5 in the Scoring Examples

share|improve this answer

rule #5 (From Hasbro the game maker) "Letter and word premiums count only on the turn in which they are played. On later turns, letters already played on premium squares count at face value."

share|improve this answer
2  
This answer is just saying what another answer already says and has less references to back it up. – Joe W Jan 5 at 0:47
3  
This doesn't answer the question. In the hypothetical, the premium is played during this turn. Two words are made, with the intersection containing a new letter and being a premium space. – Drunk Cynic Jan 5 at 0:56

Your Answer

 
discard

By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.