Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Dawnguard Scyir has the ability Flank[Faction Warjack]. If a warjack was in melee with a given enemy model and the Scyir charged into combat with that model, would he get four dice on the damage roll?

The same question would then apply to Sword Knights, which have the same Flank ability.

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

With the proviso that I'm not personally a player of Warmachine, I found this link to the Privateer Press forums where the truly knowledgeable people hang out:

Quite close to the top of this thread, a chap who seems to know what he's doing says:

Now the Scyir isn't a weapon master but has flank, so in order to get the three dice on damage (4 if you charge) you need to have a jack be in melee range. So the jack has to get in melee before the Scyir activates. But if the Jack activates before the Scyir it's drive is useless as it will not need to re-roll nothing.

I think that "three dice on damage (4 if you charge)" answers your question - a charging flank attack does indeed deal 4 dice damage!

As far as I can make out, multiple instances of flank don't stack, but there's no problem getting a bonus both from flanking and charging...

share|improve this answer

The reason you can get both bonuses, is because a charge Boosts the damage roll, while the flanking adds an extra die. A die roll (damage or attack) can only be boosted once, no matter the source, but can have extra dice added from other rules. So a boost adds an extra die, but is itself unique - adding an extra die from other effects that do not boost will still add the extra die.

And, as thesunneversets noted, you cannot get the flanking bonus more than once per damage roll.

share|improve this answer
Thanks for your input! – Travis Jun 13 '11 at 3:58

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.