A little confused about the scoring in the situations shown. It says the Cloister must be surrounded by land on all sides. In both cases illustrated, one of the six tiles surrounding the Cloister tile is technically an all-city tile. I thought since a solid wall was made that this is okay - the Cloister is still technically surrounded by grass. My partner thought it wouldn't count as no land exists on that tile. Any ideas here?
closed as too localized by Pat Ludwig♦ Nov 13 '12 at 15:53
This question is unlikely to help any future visitors; it is only relevant to a small geographic area, a specific moment in time, or an extraordinarily narrow situation that is not generally applicable to the worldwide audience of the internet. For help making this question more broadly applicable, see the FAQ.
I believe "tile" and "land tile" are synonymous. The rules for scoring cloisters states:
And the rules for drawing tiles is (emphasis mine):
As you can see, tiles are referred to as "land tiles" when drawing. We can then infer that "tiles" and "land tiles" are the same thing. So a cloister only has to be surrounded by tiles, not specifically tiles with grass on them.
Yes, that cloister is complete and can be scored. Cloisters earn points per tile touching them, with nothing specifying what kind of tile it is.
For some reason the rules says "Land tile." It is referring to any kind of tile you can place. If, by placing a "land tile," a cloister is completely surrounded by tiles (including The River tiles, the starting tile, etc.), then it is completed.
Here are pertinent scoring rules:
As far as I can tell, the phrase "Land tile" is only to distinguish it from "starting tile." Weird.