Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

We dug out my old X-Files CCG cards to play tonight, and in the process of playing, came across the card "Women's Health Clinic, Richville, MD".

Card Stats:

XF97‐0380v2 ‐‐ Rare
Episode: End Game
Site ‐‐ Cost: 2 RP
Keywords: Site, Mono, Result, Subterfuge
Prerequisite: SUBTERFUGE 4+
Question: You may ask one MOTIVE question.

Sites have keywords, which other cards can then play against. This card has the keywords Site, Mono, Result, Subterfuge, but lets you ask a Motive question. In the base set as well as the first expansion, if a site had Motive as the question, it would have Motive in its set of keywords.

Here is a sample of a site that makes sense (picture is a little blurry):

enter image description here

However, the "Women's Health Clinic, Richville, MD" card has Result as a keyword, but you can ask a Motive question. I can either assume 1 of 3 things:

  • The keywords should actually be Site, Mono, Motive, Subterfuge (third keyword matches the question asked)
  • The question asked should actually be Result (to match the current third keyword)
  • This is actually by design; while allowing you to ask a Motive question, it allows players to play Result-specific cards on the site instead.

We played the card as printed (you can ask a Motive question, but Result cards can be played on it), but the card threw us for a loop. Does anyone have any information if this is actually a typo of sorts, or by design?

(A spoiler of the cards can currently be found here in PDF format for those interested)

share|improve this question
That card says, "You may ask one Method question," not "Motive." – Jadasc Jan 21 '12 at 17:39
up vote 3 down vote accepted

Your logic is undeniable, and it seems by all accounts to be a mistake.

ALL other cards that allows questions have the question type as a keyword. Seems like this one slipped through their fingers.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.