Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

Does a token get added to the Deep One Rising Track for a Monster Surge?

Rule in question: "There are two primary ways for the Deep Ones rising track to advance. Each time a Gate is prevented from opening, such as by an elder sign token, or an investigator ability, add one uprising token to the Deep One Rising track"

share|improve this question
up vote 5 down vote accepted

Apparently the official ruling is that a monster surge is not a gate opening, it is an effect that occurs instead; and it does not cause a Deep One token to be added.

This page on the Arkham Horror wiki also suggests that adding a Deep One token is an event that occurs at a different time than a monster surge, and offers some additional explanation of the difference!

share|improve this answer

A deep one rising token is added when a gate is prevented from opening. A monster surge occurs when a gate opens on a location that has a gate already. So really, the second gate isn't prevented from opening, as it's the opening that causes the monster surge.

Gate are (at the moment at least) really only prevented from opening by seals on the board or Kate Winthrop's ability.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.