Board & Card Games Stack Exchange is a question and answer site for people who like playing board games, designing board games or modifying the rules of existing board games. Join them; it only takes a minute:

Sign up
Here's how it works:
  1. Anybody can ask a question
  2. Anybody can answer
  3. The best answers are voted up and rise to the top

The Containment Specialist role card says the following:

When you enter a city with 2 or more cubes of the same color, remove 1 cube.

We played yesterday with the mutation purple disease, and had a city with two red and two purple cubes. When the Containment Specialist entered that city we weren't sure whether we could remove one cube in total, or one cube of each colour.

In the instance, we opted to allow the removal of one of each colour, but still ended up losing because we ran out of cubes.

How many cubes should we have removed?

share|improve this question
up vote 13 down vote accepted

One cube from each disease with 2 or more cubes

The "On the Brink" rulebook states this on page 3:

If there are multiple diseases with 2 or more cubes present, remove 1 cube from each such disease.

share|improve this answer

Your Answer


By posting your answer, you agree to the privacy policy and terms of service.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.